How Long Does a Divorce Take in Florida?
Florida is a no-fault divorce state. This means that anybody who is married can file for divorce for any reason. A party needs to simply say that there are irreconcilable differences between the parties. Once a party files for divorce they serve the other party with the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. The other party then has 20 days from the date of service to file an answer and in most cases a Counter-Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. A Counter-Petition for Dissolution of marriage is the same thing as a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage but is filed by the Respondent.
In most divorce cases it is necessary to file a financial affidavit during a case. A financial affidavit is a document which states a party’s monthly income, monthly expenses, assets and liabilities. The parties must also complete Mandatory Disclosure in most dissolution of marriage cases.
Mandatory Financial Document Disclosure
Mandatory Disclosure is where a party provides the other party all of the financial documents such as:
- Bank statements
- Investments accounts
- Stock accounts
- 401K statements
- Credit card statements
- Tax returns
Each party is required to file a financial affidavit and complete mandatory disclosure within 45 days from the day the Respondent is served with the initial divorce pleadings unless the Court allows for a longer or shorter time.
Filing for Divorce without an Attorney
To file for Divorce without an attorney you can download the forms from the State of Florida’s Website
For more information about our approach to client service in Florida divorce and family law, Contact our office in Boca Raton, Florida